1
$\begingroup$

What?

Put together here a list of books (like the one for C/C++ on StackOverflow) that are spiritually similar to Sebastian Thrun's Probabilistic Robotics for robotic manipulation and mechanics.

Why?

Thrun's book is a wonderful resource for implementable algorithms while also dealing with the mathematics/theory behind them. In somewhat similar vein for robotic mechanics there is "A Mathematical Introduction to Robotic Manipulation - S.Sastry, Z.Li and R.Murray" which has a lot of mathematical/theoretical content. What is missing however in this book are the algorithms concerned with how should/would one go about implementing the theoretical stuff.

Requirements

  1. Ideally list books dealing with diverse areas of robotics.
  2. The books have to present algorithms like what Thrun does in his book.
  3. Algorithms presented have to be language agnostic and as much as possible not be based on packages like MATLAB in which case they should be categorized appropriately.
$\endgroup$

closed as off-topic by Chuck, Mark Booth Feb 10 '16 at 15:07

This question appears to be off-topic. The users who voted to close gave this specific reason:

  • "Life Questions are off-topic. Questions about choosing how to spend your time (what book to read, which class to take, what robotics project to construct, what career to pursue, etc.) may be about difficult decisions, and they are often important, but they are too specific to your own situation and are unlikely to help future visitors to the site. They would be better off asked in Robotics Chat." – Chuck, Mark Booth
If this question can be reworded to fit the rules in the help center, please edit the question.

  • 1
    $\begingroup$ I'm voting to close this as a book request - there's no way to pick a correct answer. "Life Questions are off-topic. Questions about choosing how to spend your time (what book to read, which class to take, what robotics project to construct, what career to pursue, etc.) may be about difficult decisions, and they are often important, but they are too specific to your own situation and are unlikely to help future visitors to the site. They would be better off asked in Robotics Chat." There is no specific, actual problem here (nor is there actually any question), so there's nothing to answer. $\endgroup$ – Chuck Feb 10 '16 at 14:28
  • $\begingroup$ This is not a life question. As I mentioned in the question, stackoverflow has a list of books for C/C++ divided into Beginner, Intermediate, Advanced and Other categories. I would like this question to be similar but for roboticists. $\endgroup$ – Tvaṣṭā Feb 10 '16 at 15:39
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ Perhaps this list should be put in the wiki for the books tag. Feel free to start it $\endgroup$ – Ben Feb 10 '16 at 16:32
  • $\begingroup$ Can you provide the link to the stackoverflow list of books? @Ben - that seems like a good idea, as it could provide a useful resource to point people to. $\endgroup$ – Greenonline Feb 10 '16 at 20:56
  • 1
    $\begingroup$ @Greenonline - Here's the link. stackoverflow.com/q/388242 $\endgroup$ – Tvaṣṭā Feb 11 '16 at 1:01
2
$\begingroup$

This is my go-to book for all things manipulation. But it covers some other topics as well. Robotics: Modelling, Planning and Control by Bruno Siciliano, Lorenzo Sciavicco, Luigi Villani, Giuseppe Oriolo.

$\endgroup$
  • $\begingroup$ Same for me as well. $\endgroup$ – Ryan Loggerythm Feb 11 '16 at 1:55

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.